Lament for Cod Cheeks

I had planned for some time to dine on cod cheeks.
If it wasn’t for months, it was surely for weeks.
But when we arrived at the dining venue
I was told that the dish was removed from the menu.

cod

The words that I heard were a coarse “Eighty-six!”
which in restaurant slang mean’s your entrée’s been nixed
either because the chef couldn’t buy it
or the patrons before you had all thought to try it.

cod1

In substitution, the waiter suggested
A proxy shellfish, not what I requested:
“I think you’ll like them, they pack quite a wallop.”
I demurred, ‘cause I’ve never seen cheeks on a scallop.

 

Leave a Reply

